APSR logo
Society of 

Woolcock Research Award

Prof. Woolcock

The Awardee will deliver the Woolcock Memorial Lecture on a topic of their choice. This is one of the most important plenary sessions at the APSR Congress in Taipei, Taiwan, 29 November – 2 December 2018.

The Lecture is in memory of the late Dr Ann Janet Woolcock, who died 17 February 2001, shortly after galantly serving as APSR president since 1998. She was a founding member of the initial Steeering Committee for the APSR and despite suffering illness for many years, she dedicated herself in promoting the fast-growing APSR on the international stage.

The Award includes:

  • Return economy airfare from the awardee's usual place of residence to Taipei
  • Four nights' accommodation at a Congress-designated hotel
  • Complimentary Congress registration
  • Invitation to the Gala Dinner (or similar social event) at the Congress
  • Commemorative plaque


Nominations for the honour of delivering the Lecture can be made by any member of the APSR and nominees can be any member of the APSR whose work enshrines excellence in respiratory research.

Nominations, including CV and lecture topic, should be sent to the APSR Secretariat (APSRinfo@theapsr.org) and will be considered by the APSR Research Committee.

Self-nominations can be submitted.

Deadline for nominations: 15 June 2018

Previous awardees and their chosen topic at the annual APSR Congress include:

2003Dr Guy Marks
2004Dr Peter Gibson
2005Dr Cheryl Salome
2006Dr Alan James
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
"Airway Hyperresponsiveness – Have We Answered Dr Woolcock's Question?"
2007Dr Peter Sly
Queensland Children's Medical Research Institute, University of Queensland, Australia
"To Wheeze or Not To Wheeze: What Are the Mechanisms?"
2008Dr David Hui
2009Dr Judith Lee Black
University of Sydney, Australia
"What Can In Vitro Studies Tell Us About Chronic Airways Disease?"
2010Dr Richard Beasley
Medical Research Institute of New Zealand, New Zealand
"Oxygen – a new look at an old therapy"
2011Dr Dong Soon Kim
2012Dr Christine Jenkins
"Clinical trial design in COPD : controversies and consequences"
2013Dr Shu Hashimoto
Nihon University School of Medicine, Japan
"Epithelial cell in asthma pathogenesis"
2014Dr Greg King
"Why Physiologic Investigation in Asthma is More Relevant Now Than Ever"
2015Dr Ian Yang
2016Dr Makoto Hoshino
"Asthma – Lessons learned from pathophysiology to imaging studies"
2017Dr Alan James
"Airway hyperresponsiveness – does it take two to tango?"