APSR logo
Society of 

Norbert Berend Young Investigator Award

This annual Award is offered for the best COPD paper accepted for presentation at the APSR Congress in Taipei 29 November – 2 December 2018.

Dr Berend is a world leader and mentor in COPD research and an APSR champion. Dr Berend joined GSK as a Global Medical Expert in a part time capacity in 2015. He is also Head of Respiratory Research at the George Institute for Global Health, Professor Emeritus at the University of Sydney and Member of the Physiology Group at the Woolcock Institute of Medical Research. He also holds visiting and honorary professorships at three Chinese universities.

Previously Dr Berend was Head of the Department of Respiratory Medicine at the Royal North Shore Hospital in Sydney, Executive Director of the Royal North Shore Hospital and Director of the Woolcock Institute for Medical Research. He has been heavily involved in national and international respiratory societies having been President of the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand (TSANZ) and President of the APSR. He has also served on the Council of the European Respiratory Society (ERS) and has been a member of the Board of the American Thoracic Society (ATS). In 2011 Dr Berend was Chairman of the Forum of International Respiratory Societies (FIRS).

This award is generously provided by Dr Berend for the advancement of COPD respirology for an APSR Young Investigator from an Asia-Pacific LMIC, who is presenting original work at the APSR Congress. It serves to spur on the next generation of COPD researchers to reach the achievements of Dr Berend through hard work, scholarship, vital peer support and mentorship.

Award includes:

  • $500 (jointly funded by Dr Berend and the APSR)
  • Invitation to the Gala Dinner (or similar social event) at the Congress
  • Commemorative certificate

Where the paper has more than one author, the $500 and invitation to the social event will be for one of the authors, selected by the paper's senior author. The certificate will be in the name of all the paper's authors.


Awardees must be:
  • an APSR member (en bloc or individual)
  • aged ≤40 at the start of the Congress
  • normally resident in the Asia-Pacific, in a country or region regarded by the WHO as a LMIC (low-to-middle income country)
  • the First Author of a COPD paper accepted for presentation at the APSR Congress in Taipei and able to attend the Congress in person.


  • The paper is selected by the Local Congress Committee, supported by the APSR COPD Assembly, which ranks the papers for their novelty, importance, methodology, clarity and overall quality. A consensus on the best COPD paper is then obtained through a rigorous judging system.

Award presentation:

Post-congress requirements:

  • In accepting the offer of the award, the author attending the Congress is required to send their report (circa 500 words) of their experience at the Congress to the APSR Secretariat within one month after the Congress. The report may be published in the APSR Bulletin and/or Newsletter.